This year, ICA 2019 celebrates – “World Culture & Crafts” – through meaningful inclusion of Crafts, which, besides aesthetics, also possess functional value. Each craft brings on board an innovative perspective of craftspeople and how they developed world’s most meaningful objects for daily use, making millions of lives better. It is high time that all such knowledge and skills shall be preserved and transferred to the next generation.
This year, ICA 2019 aims to have an even wider reach, and find and reward the champions of the crafts who have made important contributions to the sector across the world, specifically through their homage to unique local stories that have inspired and are communicated through their work. Similar to last year, an eminent jury will select the finalists and the awardees in different categories. The categories to be recognized would be — Handicraft, Tribal & Traditional Paintings, Constructed Apparel & Textiles (woven, knitted, crocheted, felted textiles, and lace), Embellished Textiles (embroidery, patchwork, quilting, batik, and printed textiles), Cane & Bamboo Work, Jewelry & Adornment, Accessories, Metalwork, Woodwork, Ceramics & Glass, and Other crafts as deemed fit.

The ICA sets a new benchmark in the world with highest level of skill and design excellence, and provides an open platform for craftspeople working in a wide variety of material & media, to have their work assessed by a professional jury and international craft experts. Award winners will be showcased at the 2nd chapter of INDIA CRAFT WEEK during 4-8th December 2019. These awards promote, inspire and encourage craftspeople of the highest standards, making International Craft Awards an annual global feature.

The theme for ICA 2019 is “Global Crafts & Creative Industry”. Crafts have always been the part of industry development in most of the countries, and one of the biggest economic contributors. ICA 2019 will celebrate these unique crafts chosen from across the world, which has not only helped develop economic sustenance but also towards sustainable development and better quality of life.

Each application will be reviewed for not just the skills employed in it, but also for the uniqueness and depth in use of Crafts for developing disruptive products. These crafts will be reviewed on functionality, use of local resources in an effective manner, and building a supply-chain ecosystem with contemporary brands and companies.

1. Craftsperson of the Year (for each category in soft & hard goods and others)
Eligibility: Open for all Artisans/Craftsmen

2. Craft Designer of the Year (Established & Gen-Next)
Eligibility: For established category designers must have contributed minimum of 10 years, and for Gen-Next category minimum 3 years in the Crafts sector.

3. Craft Brand of the Year
Eligibility: The Company/Brand must have been in existence for minimum 5 years and should be only working in Craft Sector.

4. Master Artisan (Male and Female) of the Year
Eligibility: Minimum Recipient of National/International Award with minimum 20 years  of experience working in Crafts sector.

5. Craft Institute/Academy of the Year
Eligibility: Institutions/Schools/Universities of national importance that are recognised by the Government of a specific country. Minimum 10 years of experience in imparting programs/courses in Crafts and Design linked to Crafts.

6. Organization/Company for Business Development of Craft Sector
Eligibility: Companies/Organization of National/International repute with minimum three years of incorporation/existence.

7. Organization/Company for Sustainable Development of Craft Sector
Eligibility: Companies/Organization of National/International repute with minimum three years of incorporation/existence.

8. Craft Icon of the Year: Individual Contribution for the development of Craft Sector
Eligibility: Recipient of National/International Award with minimum of 10 years of experience in the Crafts sector, with accomplished record in contribution for holistic development of Craft Sector.

9. Lifetime achievement for a Government representative, who contributed to the sustainable development of Craft Sector and Social Inclusion

Eligibility: To be nominated by the Government of Each Country/State/Region based on merit & contribution for Craft Sector. Individual public servant cannot nominate themselves.

– Online/Offline Application Opens: 20th July
– Deadline for applications: 20th October
– Final Jury: 31st October
– Announcement of Selected Candidates: 3rd November
– Announcement of Award Winners: 3rd November
– Award Night; 7th December

1 Each Finalist have to submit a piece of their work, in case their work is too big and heavy and can’t be shipped, they would be exempted under this category. Soon after the announcement of the finalist, the shortlisted candidates are required to send their physical samples within a week.

2. The work of the award winners would be a part of the permanent exhibit at Craft Village giving due credits to the award winners, and therefore not returned back.

Applicants must be 18-years of age or older. The contest is open for all nominated professional and amateur craftspeople & designers from any country subject to the eligibility criteria mentioned above.

Application Form is available online, that you can download and send with the relevant information and images. Interested craftspeople/artisans/designers can also request for participation by writing to info@craftvillage.org.in. Upon receipt of the request the application form with terms and conditions would be sent via e-mail. In the conformation email, you will be asked to send us 3-photos of your featured items. Please provide them as .jpg image files (approx. 1000 pixels long side).

The photos should be of your recent work created within the last 3-years.  Please note that there are no charges for the submission, however, the following expenses would be borne by Individual/Organization:
– To and From Courier/Postal charges to send application or material to Craft Village, New Delhi.
– To and From Travel, Insurance, Visa and other applicable cost.
– Stay and other costs has to be borne by Participants/Participating Organisation only.

The selection would be made by competent jury to ensure highest level of creativity, originality, production-technique and artistic quality which is meant for this international Craft Award. Only the nominated artists/designers would be able to participate at the award ceremony. For selection following criteria would be considered:

Timely Submission
a) Full Submission of all required documents & eligibility criteria.
b) Originality of Statement to ensure there is no plagiarism.
c) Other documents/criteria as described in Application Form.

The Competition includes three selection steps:
Step 1- Filtration: Pre-selection by the internal jury
Step 2- Nomination: Final Selection by the International Jury
Step 3: Award Presentation to the finalist and award winners

Participants whose submissions are nominated for the International Craft Award grant the promoter (Craft Village) the right to publish their submitted images on the International Craft Award webpage, official Facebook-site, Newsletters, and Media Coverages to promote the award winners. All rights and copyrights of the images remain to the copyright owner (submitter/artist).

Note: Craft Village holds all the rights to amend or cancel any part of event without any prior information.
All the art work in form of original products must be insured by the craftsperson/artist/designer as Craft Village takes no responsibility of it getting damaged due to transit, or otherwise. For detailed terms & conditions, eligibility refer to Craft Village website (www.craftvillage.org.in)

DCCoI External Exhibitions Fund - Call for Applications
LOEWE Craft Prize 2020 | Submissions now open